Foxcroft Academy Announces 2019 Rose Awards Recipients

May 1, 2019

Dover-Foxcroft – On Wednesday, May 1st, a special assembly was held at Foxcroft Academy to announce the Class of 2019’s outstanding scholars at its annual Rose Award ceremony. This year, the recipients were: Aida Abdykashova, Brigid Casey, Yeojeong “Liz” Choi, Lauren Cooper, Nicolas Daneman, Abigail Henderson, Keying “Chloe” Huang (Salutatorian), Spencer Ireland (Valedictorian), Rylie Kleikamp, Yifan “Frances” Li, Gavyn Moreshead, Mariah Poulin, Cailin Seavey, Dustin Simmons, Matthew Spooner, and Hannah Sprecher.

The Rose Awards were established in 1931 when Mr. Frank G. Stone was head of Foxcroft Academy. Rose Award recipients have accumulated a grade point average that places them in the top 15 percent of the permanent students in their class. For the 34th consecutive year, a medallion with the Foxcroft Academy seal will be presented to the recipients in addition to the traditional rose. These medallions will be presented on May 3rd in conjunction with the induction ceremony for the eighth class of the Foxcroft Academy Academic Hall of Fame.  Mrs. Priscilla White, former FA English teacher and librarian who retired after 36 years of service, and Mr. Robert Beek, who taught mathematics at FA for 33 years, conceived the idea for this permanent award, and contributed funds to have the die cast for the medallion, which has now become a permanent part of the annual ceremony. For photos of the afternoon, go to