13 Foxcroft Academy Students Honored as 2018 Rose Award Recipients

May 1, 2018

On Tuesday, May 1st, a special assembly was held at Foxcroft Academy to announce the Class of 2018’s outstanding scholars at its annual Rose Award ceremony. This year, the  recipients were: Jinlin “Wayne” Chen, Jenna Clukey (Valedictorian), Emily Curtis, Maya Hagelin, Charlotte Jolin, Gabrielle Jolin, Shu “Will” Lin, Griffin Loomis, Virginia Macomber, Avery Nelson (Salutatorian), Jacob Olson, Esau Olson, and Joshua Reed.

The Rose Awards were established in 1931 when Mr. Frank G. Stone was head of Foxcroft Academy. Rose Award recipients have accumulated a grade point average that places them in the top 15 percent of the permanent students in their class. For the 33rd consecutive year, a medallion with the Foxcroft Academy seal will be presented to the recipients in addition to the traditional rose. These medallions will be presented on May 4th in conjunction with the induction ceremony for the seventh class of the Foxcroft Academy Academic Hall of Fame.  Mrs. Priscilla White, former FA English teacher and librarian who retired after 36 years of service, and Mr. Robert Beek, who taught mathematics at FA for 33 years, conceived the idea for this permanent award, and contributed funds to have the die cast for the medallion, which has now become a permanent part of the annual ceremony.

For photos of the event, go to: https://flic.kr/s/aHskAq6RjC.